Aspire to Inspire

Today is a new day.

Everyone knows someone who was born knowing what they want to do with their life. Whether it be a nurse, astronaut, veterinarian etc, they just know. That sort of decisiveness is awesome.

Sadly, I am not one of those people. I have no idea what I want to be when I grow up.Well, not exactly. I have a general idea. I know I want to help others. Volunteering and giving back make me infinitely happy. I want to do that while writing.  Now, how to pull that off?

Lately I have been in a bit of a slump. A nasty pity party if there ever was one. I was pouting because I was homesick. I was pouting because I was lonely. I was pouting well, just to pout. And as much fun as it sounds, it gets old.

See, here’s the thing: I am the only one who can break myself out of it. Friends aren’t just going to magically knock on my door. (Although, that would be much easier.. and much creepier.) Opportunities to live aren’t going to find their way to me, my email box or my phone.

So as of now, pity party is over. I have been existing without really living.

This is my new challenge. For myself and for everyone else. Tomorrow starts the month of June.. I am going to be going out of my way to step out of my comfort zone for the next 30 days. Whether that be paying it forward in some small way, making contact with another human, making someone’s life better. I’ll also be writing about it. At the end of the 30 days, I will just see where it takes me.

I am accepting this challenge for myself ultimately, but I extend this same challenge to you. Will you do this with me? Together we can make the world a little better than we found it.

If you are having trouble getting inspired, you can find a list of 50 ways to pay it forward here, from the blog  The Halfway Point. Tell them I sent you?

-Ash

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

